February 7, 2012

  • Call the Midwife.

    Nobody told me that writing a book is so much like giving birth. This is crazy.

    I’ve had a book swimming around in my head for years. Correction: Make that books. It’s a wonder I can think at all with all this stuff jumping around in here.

    Wow, the confusion!

    There’s a thought–better write that down!

    Where?

    Wait, can’t blog it–it should go in the book!

    Which one?

    How should I know? You’re the writer!

    I am? Oh, wait. Yes…yes, I am. I am?

    You’ve known it your whole life. Pull yourself together, woman.

    Am I the only idiot who has involved conversations with herself?

    Probably.

    Shut up.

    You asked.

    Yes, I suppose I did. Now what? Where do I go from here? 

    Enough with the italics. Too much introspection. Good grief. This has to be hormone-driven.

    What is happening to me? Is this the part where I look back and see with startling clarity the Braxton-Hicks contractions of those first scribbled stories, the years of teaching creative writing, the lifestory coaching, the endless journaling, the sporadic ebb and flow of blogging? Where I suddenly realize that maybe this is really it, that maybe I really am finally in labor–that I am about to have a book? Or maybe it’s just another one of those dreams about giving birth to an alien. I don’t know what’s happening, but I do know this is scary mess.

    Forget boiling water. I need coffee.

Comments (1)

  • The longest book begins with the first paragraph. Nothing enjoys a finish unless it first goes through the labor of its beginning.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *